A Freezer Full of Lies

broccoliI lied.

I didn’t tell you what I was doing.

I’ve never done anything like this before.

Really, I did it for your own good.

I bought the french fries with the hidden vegetables inside. The broccoli fries. And you liked them. You liked every bite.

Did I feel a little wrong, a little dirty, lying to you? Nope, not one bit. You, dear toddler, wouldn’t touch a vegetable on your own. I had to take matters into my own lying, scheming hands.

Now, though, my white fibs are adding up and I have some choices to make. Do I come clean and hope you’re so swayed by the deliciousness that you recognize the error of your ways and try more veggies? Or do I keep my trap shut and watch you dip those fries of lies into your ketchup. Happy with the knowledge that you’re eating some vegetables, even if they are served with a side of deception.

Or maybe, you’ve seen through the facade. You see my excitement and you’re just waiting for me to think I’ve won. I’ll go out and buy bags and bags til I fill the freezer. And then you won’t take another bite.

Only time will tell how this all plays out. Would I do it again? Abso-friggin-lutely. Now, if you’ll excuse me, I have to go make dinner. There’s a bag of pasta made from zucchini in the freezer and it’s got your name on it.

Leave a Reply

